To all Healthcare Professionals…..#handouthope

Which me am I today?

To all healthcare professionals…..

Imagine yourselves in my shoes – being given a diagnosis of Young onset dementia. Your life falls apart, you feel worthless and of no use to anyone any more……Services are non existent so you feel abandoned.

That’s what happened to me when I was diagnosed.

Now, Imagine, if someone came along and asked for your opinions, asked you to be involved in gathering information. Someone who was genuinely interested in what you had to say.. Imagine how that would make you feel………
Imagine the impact on your well being – finally hearing someone acknowledging that you still had something to give; that you still had a valuable opinion and views that mattered.

That’s what happened to me when I started to be involved in research.

As soon as I was diagnosed I wanted to take part in research – however, my clinicians decided for me that…

View original post 206 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

